Dramatis Personae


Please Note: The UKSSB and constituent societies cannot recommend a particular specialist or institution. Please remember that the final decision on the specialist you choose and the treatment you choose is yours and the UKSSB cannot take responsibility for actions or performance of the clinicians looking after you.


(Orth) = Orthopaedic Surgeon

(NS) = Neurosurgeon

NHS Chain of Command

Medical Director NHS - Stephen Powis

Deputy Medical Director NHS - vacant

Acute Care - Keith Willett (Orth)

NHS Clinical Quality and Efficiency - Tim Briggs (Orth)

Specialised Services - James Palmer (NS)

NPOC Trauma - Paul May (NS)

CSS CRG Chair - Ashley Cole (Orth)

National Clinical Director - Musculo-skeletal Services Peter Kay 


GIRFT (Getting It Right First Time) Team

National Director for Clinical Quality & Efficiency, Dept. of Health - Professor Tim Briggs (Orth)

GIRFT Prog. & DH Clinically Led Quality & Efficiency Programme - Rachel Yates - Director

GIRFT Spinal Lead - Mike Hutton (Orth) and Nick Phillips (NS)


Improving Spinal Care Team

(National Backpain Pathway and Spinal Networks - previously Spinal Transformation)

Chair - Ashley Cole - Improving Spinal Care Project

Clinical Team

England  - North - Ashley Cole (Orth)

England  - South - David Cummings (Orth)

England - Tim Pigott (NS)

AHP - Elaine Buchanan (Physiotherapy)

UKSSB - Alistair Stirling (Orth) 

Implementation and Administrative Team

Transformation Manager - David Waddingham

Project Manager - Sarah Kirkland

Accountable Commissioner - David Stockdale

Communications and Engagement - Mary Hardie

Patient Representative - Gillian Goodrich

NHS QS - Sally Edwards

GIRFT - Rachel Yates


Spinal Service CRG

July 2016 – July 2019 

Chair - Ashley Cole

Spinal Surgery Regional Members 

North - John Leach

Midlands & East - David Cumming

London - James Allibone

South - Nigel Henderson (Vice Chair)

Spinal Injuries Regional Members

North - Awaiting advert

Midlands & East - Aheed Osman (BASCIS Representative)

London - Angela Gall

South - Chalil Vinod

Accountable Commissioner - David Stockdale

BASS Representative - Stuart Blagg

BSS Representative - Vinay Jasani

SBNS Representative - Paul May

MASCIP - Dorothy Trusler

Public Health England - Robert Wilson

Patient Representatives - Kevan Baker, Daniel Burden and Andy Masters